Current Trends in Mass Spectrometry e-newsletter:
Having trouble viewing this e-mail? Click here.
Presented by LCGC and Spectroscopy

March 24, 2014

|

PRINT SUBSCRIBE

|

DIGITAL SUBSCRIBE


Featured Articles
Application of Mass Spectrometry to Support Verification and Characterization of Counterfeit Pharmaceuticals
The production and sale of counterfeit drugs has risen sharply in recent years. The World Health Organization (WHO) estimates that counterfeit medicines account for approximately 1% of sales in developed countries and well over 10% in developing countries. MORE
A New Outlook on Soft Ionization for GC–MS
Despite the advantages of soft ionization ion-source technologies for improving confidence in the identification of a range of challenging analytes, soft ionization remains a niche technique for gas chromatography–mass spectrometry (GC–MS). MORE
Featured Products
Sensitive, Ultrafast LC/MS/MS
Offering an unparalleled combination of LC/MS/MS speed and sensitivity, Shimadzu’s triple quad LCMS-8050 dramatically improves analytical throughput while achieving the highest levels of sensitivity and quantitative performance.Learn more
Thermo Scientific™ MS Applications Compendium for Environmental Analysis
Read through our comprehensive MS Applications Compendium. Find Orbitrap, triple-quad and automated sample prep methods for the analysis of contaminants - pharmaceutical and PPCPs, drug residues, natural compounds and pesticides.Read More
ACQUITY QDa Detector
The industry’s most accessible, affordable, and useable mass detector. The intuitive design of the ACQUITY QDa Detector gives you the additional data you need without the cost and complexity of traditional mass spectrometry.Learn more
An Enhanced Immunoaffinity Enrichment Method for Mass Spectrometry–Based Translational Proteomics
Translational proteomics has not been as successful as originally anticipated. Because mass spectrometry (MS) can separate proteins at the sequence level, it provides the selectivity needed for this application; however, traditional challenges still exist, including time-to-result, throughput, and sample-size requirements. MORE
Comparison of Edible Oils by GCxGC–TOF-MS and GC–High Resolution TOF-MS for Determination of Food Fraud: A "Foodomics" Approach
Here, a method to characterize edible oils and edible oil mixtures through fingerprinting and the isolation of individual analyte differences is reported. Aroma and flavor analytes in extra virgin olive, olive, peanut, grapeseed, and vegetable oils were sampled with headspace solid-phase microextraction (HS-SPME). MORE
Application Note
Information Rich Flash Chromatography I: Mass Directed Fractionation
Jack Silver, Teledyne ISCO
Mass spectrometers have long been used for detection and collection when coupled with liquid chromatography. Nearly universal detection of compounds is achieved when MS is combined with UV detection. MORE
New Webcast
Innovative Leaps in FTIR Technology – Introducing the Next Generation of Handheld FTIR for Non-Destructive Materials Analysis
Tuesday, March 25, 2014 11:00 AM PDT/ 12:00 PM CDT/ 2:00 PM EDT
Introducing the next generation of Handheld FTIR. This innovative design provides users with a much more reliable and easier to use platform for their on the go FTIR analysis.
Sign Up Now>>
The Use of Solid Core Technology in the Pharmaceutical Environment
Thursday, March 25, 2014 8:00 AM PDT/ 11:00 AM EDT/ 3:00 PM GMT
This webinar will provide the tools for successful introduction of solid core chromatography. It will explain how the technology works and which columns to choose for specific areas and stages in the pharmaceutical pipeline.
Sign Up Now>>
Increasing Laboratory Efficiency through a Harmonized Compliance Solution
Thursday, March 27, 2014 8:00 AM PDT/ 11:00 AM EDT/ 3:00 PM GMT/ 4:00 PM CET
Analytical instrument qualification (AIQ) procedures that laboratories must carry out to comply with the regulations of the U.S. FDA and similar regulatory agencies worldwide can be complex, costly, and fraught with risks. In this webcast, you will review the key aspects of AIQ, learn about the latest regulatory requirements, and discover how a harmonized solution can make consistent compliance easier for your laboratory.
Sign Up Now>>
HPLC for Pharmaceutical Analyses: Succeed with Sample Filtration and Optimized Water Quality
Wednesday, April 9, 2014 8:00 AM PDT/ 11:00 AM EDT
Do you perform HPLC in a pharmaceutical discovery or development operation? Attend this webinar, and you’ll learn valuable strategies for maintaining clean baselines, improving run reproducibility, and prolonging column life. Our speakers will guide you through choosing the sample filtration platform to match your workflow stage and throughput needs and understanding the impact of water quality on chromatography results.
Sign Up Now>>
High Resolution MS Screening and Quantitation Method for Contaminants in Dietary Supplements
Thursday, April 10, 2014 8:00 AM PDT/ 11:00 AM EDT/ 4:00 PM BST/ 5:00 PM CEST
Learn from the FDA’s Lukas Vaclavik about the analysis of pharmaceutical and plant toxin contaminants in herbal dietary supplements.
Sign Up Now>>
 

 
Upcoming Events
1–4, April 2014
Analytica 2014 – 24th International Trade Fair for Laboratory Technology, Analysis, Biotechnology and Analytica Conference
Munich, Germany
» Visit the website
 
5–8, April 2014
American Physical Society April Meeting
Savannah, Georgia
» Visit the website
 
6–10, April 2014
The 47th Annual International Meeting of the ESR Spectroscopy Group of the Royal Society of Chemistry
Dundee, United Kingdom
» Visit the website
 
13–16, April 2014
EUROBT(R)ODE XII
Athens, Greece
» Visit the website
 
14–17, April 2014
SPIE Photonics Europe 2014:
Photonics, Optics, Lasers, Micro and Nanotechnologies, Brussels, Belgium
» Visit the website
 
15–18, April 2014
Analitika 2014
Moscow, Russia
» Visit the website
 
25–28, April 2014
AnalytiX 2014
Dalian, China
» Visit the website
 
18–21, May 2014
EMBO|EMBL Symposium: Molecular Machines: Lessons from Integrating Structure, Biophysics, and Chemistry
Heidelberg, Germany
» Visit the website
 
12–13, June 2014
RamanFest
Boston, MA
» Visit the website
 
17–20, June 2014
38th International Symposium on Environmental Analytical Chemistry
Lausanne, Switzerland
» Visit the website